Drew G.I. Hart and Changing the Way the Church Views Racism

It’s been a difficult week for many of us.  Here in Canada, we’ve witnessed through social media so many attempts to make sense, cope with, and understand the ongoing epidemic of shootings taking place in the United States.  This last week, it was the deaths of Alton Sterling and Philando Castile at the hands of police officers. And then not even a few days later, the deaths of 5 police officers at the hands of Micah Johnson.

I think many of us empathize with the fear and the pain of the people involved in these incidents.   I think many of us here in Canada deliberate over this situation because we wonder if the same thing can take place here.  And it does.  It even happens with our Indigenous population.

If you’re looking for a way to mindfully engage with this issue and at the same time something great to read this summer, I highly recommend reading Trouble I’ve Seen: Changing the Way the Church Views Racism by Drew G.I. Hart.  In this book, Drew not only lays out his own personal experience of growing up black in the US and having to live with the reality that he could be shot by police without provocation or justification; but he also does an excellent job of communicating how even our language around this conversation can inadvertently support and intensify racism.

I found Drew’s writing to be insightful, so well-researched, and I would certainly describe this book as crucial and essential to any conversation around race and violence in our world today.  Check it out for yourself!

Comments Off on Drew G.I. Hart and Changing the Way the Church Views Racism

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.