My last post

With a title like that, I feel I should have bugle music in the background!  Yes, the time has come for me to write my last post for this blog, because this Sunday is my last service as minister at The First Mennonite Church in Vineland.

When I was called to this church as pastor, we had an “installation” service.  So I guess this means that I am being “uninstalled” this Sunday.  I’m not sure those words really fit, because it sounds too impersonal, sort of like furniture or an appliance.

The theme I’ve chosen for this Sunday is “Letting Go”.   I am “letting go” of my role as pastor here which frees the space for a new minister to come, and you are “letting go” of me, so that I am free to leave, and minister in other places.

I let go of writing this blog, which allows someone else’s voice a space, I let go of preaching, pastoring, administrating…   And so it’s a transition time.  Transitions are tough.  It’s often in transitions that we realize how much we need God’s help and guidance.  God leads us from ending to beginning, from here to there, from this to that.  God shows us the way.

I am entirely confident in God’s leading into the future.   Blessings to First Mennonite and all the people here, I have been so blessed to be a part of this community.  I have seen God’s face here in your faces, experienced God’s love through your love.

This week’s prayer is an old Irish blessing:
May the road rise up to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Carol Penner

Comments Off on My last post

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.