Heroes of faith

There are a lot of big names in the history of the Anabaptist movement.  There’s Menno Simons, who had the whole denomination of Mennonites named after him.  There’s Conrad Grebel, who has a college named after him.  There’s….wait, what other names are there?  Maybe we don’t know as many people from the early Anabaptist movement as we think!

This week I’m going to be starting a series that will go on and off through the summer where I give an autobiographical sketch about an early Anabaptist.  What made them tick?  What was important to them, and how did their faith in God change their life?

This week I’m tackling Conrad Grebel.  Having gone to a college named after him, you would think I would know more about him than I do.  I was really surprised by what I found.  What surprised me, you ask?  Come to church on Sunday and find out!

This week’s prayer:  Thank you God for our foremothers and forefathers in faith, who studied scripture carefully and shaped the church.  Help  us to be faithful too!

Comments Off on Heroes of faith

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.