Dark thoughts

What do you think about when you walk in the dark?  This past summer I was walking in deep darkness.

I was in Hezekiah’s tunnel, an underground waterway under Jerusalem that King Hezekiah dug out long ago.  It’s around two feet wide, and it’s this long tunnel hewn through the rock deep underground.  There’s a couple of feet of water in it.   It’s half a kilometer long. There are no lights underground.  Our group, armed with flashlights, started in…..soon the group at the front had moved ahead, and the people behind me had stopped to take some pictures, and I was suddenly walking alone in this tunnel without any light at all.  Zero light.  Underground cave, pitch blackness.  Cold water up to my hips, with me feeling my way along with my hands on the sides of the walls.    I could hear voices but I could see nothing.  The weight of the darkness, the heaviness of it as solid as rock seemed to compress me, and I  felt like it was trying to extinguish my life.  I felt my skin starting to crawl as I walked in the darkness deep underground.

It’s possible to walk in the dark.  You can fall down and bump into things or you might get lost, but you can walk.  This week’s scripture passage talks about God’s kingdom coming as light dawning on those who walk in darkness.   In that tunnel I was longing for light.

I wonder where you are walking in the dark in your life?  What kind of light do you need?  How can God bring light to you this advent?

This week’s prayer:  Be with me, even when I walk through the valley of the shadow of death.  Be with me in dark places Jesus, you are the light I need!

Comments Off on Dark thoughts

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.