Eagle eye

I still remember the first time I saw a bald eagle.  I was in New Brunswick, camped at a national park, and an eagle slowly soared over us as we hiked.  It was a thrilling experience, something that you thank God for…for creating an animal that majestic, and for letting you see it!

Then a few years ago, I was driving on Victoria Avenue above the escarpment, and I saw a bird flying.  It was a pretty big bird, and I thought at first it was a great blue heron. But the more I looked, the more I realized it was something entirely different. I was noticing the powerful strong slow strokes of its flight when I saw the white head.  A bald eagle in Niagara!  I have lived here all my life, and I saw my first bald eagle in my late 40’s.

Bald eagles are named as a threatened species.  They have crawled back from being on the endangered species list several decades ago.  This was largely as a result of the use of pesticides, which damaged their ability to lay healthy eggs.  Banning certain pesticides allowed the bird to regain its population, and return to Niagara.

God sees the sparrow fall; does God see the eagle fall?  Does God care if a type of eagle becomes extinct?  Does God rejoice when an eagle species is saved?  How does the church relate to animals and the crises they face in our world?  What does the Bible say about this?   That’s what I’m talking about in this week’s sermon.  Hope to see you there!

This week’s prayer:  Thank you God for the regalness of bald eagles, their sharp eyesight, their powerful wings, their gracefulness in flight.  They reveal your glory, because you created them. Thank you that bald eagles join with us in a song of praise to you.

Comments Off on Eagle eye

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.