Fighting for peace?

I read an article in the Globe and Mail this week, where a woman reflected on the sacrifice her father made as a soldier in WWII.  The difference about this article from many articles I’ve read about war, was that her father was a soldier in the German army.   I was particularly struck by one line at the end of the article, where she refers to her father and other soldiers “fighting for world peace”.

Everyone is fighting for world peace.  It’s such a contradiction in terms.  Maybe if people stopped fighting, we would find peace. If the people on one side are praying to God for victory, and they believe they are fighting for world peace, and the people on the other side are praying to God for victory, and they believe they are fighting for world peace; who does God listen to? Maybe God is praying for us…that we would listen to what the other side is saying, and say, “Hold on here a minute…you want peace too?”

I still remember a poster that hung in our church years ago, “A modest proposal for peace: Let the Christians of the world agree that they will not kill each other.”

But peace is hard to find, on a global scale and a local scale.  I have a hard time dealing with my own anger, my own frustration with people I interact with.  I see war on small scales happening around me; what am I doing to help people find peace?

This Sunday we will be talking about peace with the help of some of the seniors in our church; hope to see you there!

This week’s prayer:  Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me!

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/facts-and-arguments/the-essay/it-took-courage-to-tell-my-fathers-story-on-remembrance-day/article2231161/

 

Comments Off on Fighting for peace?

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.