Top Ten Reasons Why I Can’t be a Minister

This next week I will be at Canadian Mennonite University, spending a week with the students there.  I was invited by the university for the purpose of encouraging young adults to think about pastoral ministry as a career option.   As I was preparing for this, I wondered how we at First Mennonite are encouraging our young adults…do we see gifts in them that might lead them to pastoral ministry? Have we ever told them about that?  If you have kids, would you encourage one of your children to be a minister?  Why or why not?

There was a long time where pastoral ministry didn’t seem to be an option for me.  I could easily have written a “Top Ten Reasons Why I Can’t be a Minister” list.   Thinking back, I wrote that out this week, and I’m going to share it with some students next week.  God found a way to meet each of my objections!

  1. I am not as spiritual as a minister should be.
  2. No one has ever told me I should be a minister.
  3. It would be too hard to go to seminary (such as AMBS in Elkhart, Indiana)
  4. I am not as wise or smart as a minster should be.
  5. There is too much politics in the church, not a good career choice.
  6. I am scared of public speaking.
  7. I wouldn’t know what to preach about.
  8. I have already trained for a different career.
  9. I won’t have as much fun in life if I am trying to be holy all the time.
  10. My friends will treat me differently if they know I am a minister.

Please pray this week that God will lead young people into ministry, and that the church will find spaces to nurture their gifts, and accept their leadership.

Comments Off on Top Ten Reasons Why I Can’t be a Minister

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.