Trying to do the math

Did you know there are approximately 2.14 billion Christians in the world? It’s hard to get your mind around that many brothers and sisters. Let’s try narrowing it down to “Mennonite and Brethren in Christ Christians”. The nuclear family instead of the extended family. That is a more manageable figure…approximately 1.5 million.

This Sunday is World Fellowship Sunday where we think about our place in the worldwide church.  It’s a pretty small place. Could it be that Mennonites are .007% of the Christian Church? I don’t even want to tell you how long it took me to come up with that percentage…my calculators don’t like that many zeros, so I went the long division route. Let me know on Sunday if I was right!

I think what I learned from this little math exercise is that Mennonites are a pretty small piece of the pie. And yet even within this small microfraction piece of the world-wide church pie there is a lot of diversity. Come to church this Sunday prepared to think about what it means to be in a world-wide church!

This week’s prayer: God, you don’t even have to do the math, you know each one of us by name, you love the global family that is your church. Help us to love this church too!

Comments Off on Trying to do the math

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.