Entering into silence

This past week my husband attended a family funeral in Manitoba. His cousin’s wife was tragically killed in a car accident at the age of 54. The grief was compounded by the fact that this cousin had lost his oldest son in a car accident 13 years ago, so this was the second time that same family had to deal with such a sudden shocking death.

As Eugene was getting ready to go to the airport, he asked whether I would write a card to them. I sat down, with the card in front of me, and thought about this family. I just was at a loss for words. In the end I said, “We can’t find words to express our sorrow. Know that you are in our thoughts and prayers constantly.”

Sometimes when faced with grief, we can just blurt things out, trying to say something, anything, to make the situation better. Some nice sounding religious words, “She’s in a better place now.” “God called her home.” I’ve sometimes said things like that. I think sometimes we are afraid to enter into the silence of grief, that lonely soul-searing place where all we can do is cry. The women who stood at the foot of the cross watching Jesus suffer entered into that type of silence.

How does God reach out to us in silence? What role does silence play in hearing the voice of God? I’m going to be talking about in my sermon this week. Maybe we’ll find some silence in our service too, just to try it out.

This week’s prayer:   _______________________________________________________________________.

Comments Off on Entering into silence

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.