The evolution of thankfulness

I am trying to remember the first time I felt really thankful. I think it all started with the colour turquoise and the smell of candy. When I was around four years old we lived in Kenmore, a suburb of Buffalo. And down the street from our house was a candy store painted turquoise. I don’t have a lot of memories from that time in my life, but the one vivid memory is of standing by this big turquoise wall, breathing in the sweet smell of candy. Bliss!

Deep happiness or contentedness has a thankful element to it. Later in life, our thankfulness can be more explicit, we can start to articulate who we are thankful to, and for what. I wonder how thankfulness changes as we go through the life cycle. This Sunday we will be hearing several voices from different generations—a chorus of thankfulness.

In preparation for our thanksgiving service, which includes communion, spend some time reflecting on how your thankfulness has changed or evolved over your lifetime. Are you a more thankful person than you were a year ago, or ten years ago, or fifty years ago?

This week’s prayer: Now thank we all our God, with heart and hands and voices.

Comments Off on The evolution of thankfulness

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.