Communion

What are your earliest memories of communion services? In the church where I was raised, communion was not something I ever witnessed. The regular service would come to a close, the children (and adherents I guess) would all leave, and the members would share communion. I don’t remember giving communion much thought as a kid, I was just glad to be able to go to the gymnasium and fool around with my friends. I don’t think I had a clue what was happening.

Going through a catechism class, and getting baptized changed all that…after the baptism service I saw and participated in communion for the first time. It seemed very mysterious to me. While I took communion, I wasn’t sure what I was supposed to feel or what it was supposed to mean to me.

I’m still working on the mystery part of that. I have a better understanding theologically of what we are doing, but symbols have power precisely because there is some mystery involved. God is working in us in ways we can hardly understand or imagine.

This week we are going to be sharing communion, and in my sermon I am going to be talking about mystery. “This is my body broken for you.” How does taking communion change us?

This week’s prayer: Jesus, as I prepare to participate in communion this Sunday,
open my heart to your mysterious presence in my life, in our community.

Comments Off on Communion

Filed under First thoughts

Comments are closed.